top of page
  • Writer's pictureCue Sports Nova Scotia


The Maritime 8-Ball Championships were held this past weekend in Moncton New Brunswick. This was the first time the annual championships were held in NB. This year’s Maritime 8-Ball was hosted by Drew LaPointe and Dooly's Inc., with assistance from CCS director Dave Boone. Events were held over 4 days in two pool halls, Dooly’s on Mountain Rd and Elmwood Dr. Steve Cooper and Dale Brimicombe handled the Tournament Director duties.

The weekend was filled with Singles and Team events in various divisions for both men and women. Each division was playing for cash, and entry fees to the CCS National Championships to be held in Niagara Falls in March 2017.

On Thursday night, there was a Meet and Greet session for the players at Dooly’s on Mountain Road, and a scotch doubles tournament was held, won by Jennifer Rowden and DJ Coolen of Halifax.

Friday and Saturday were all about the Singles Divisions!

Advanced Division Winner Chris Dempsey, Dieppe NB triumphed 7-6 & 7-2 over runner-up Gilles LeBlanc, Dieppe NB. Jeff Kennedy, of Saint John NB finished 3rd, and Yvon Robichaud, Richibucto NB, was 4th.

In the Open Division, Champion Jean-Guy Belliveau of Beresford, NB beat Yvon Robichaud 6-4 & 6-2 for the title. 3rd place finisher was Dale Young of Halifax NS, and 4th was Dale Brimicombe, also of Halifax NS. Sharing 5th-6th place were Patrick Godin, Dieppe NB, and Daryl Peden, Moncton NB.

Ryan Kendall of Sydney, NS took home the Standard Division, going through the field undefeated, beating Normand Noel, Haut-Lameque, NB, 5-3 for the victory. Mike Basque, Sydney NS placed 3rd, and filling out the money spots in fourth was Terrence Sylliboy of Eskasoni NS.

In the Women’s Division, it was Janet Ritcey, Halifax NS, winning out over fellow Haligonian Leigh Ann Giles. Louise Cormier, Moncton, NB, had a solid 3rd place finish, followed in 4th by Christa Yeo, Halifax, NS.

Sunday brought on the Team Divisions!

In Advanced Team's, top honors went to Nok Off's of Halifax, NS (Justin D'Eon, Nok Mantolino, Brian White, Bob Miklos, Adam Cormier, & Dave Boone). 2nd Place went to Halifax Hustlers (Dale Young, DJ Coolen, Kevin Grimm, Pat Briand & Brad Doyle).

In Standard Division teams Unama'ki Legends of Eskasoni/Sydney, reigned supreme (Peter Kabatay, Mike Basque, Ryan Kendall, Jay Morris, Andrew Francis, and Joel Morris). Truro, NS’s team of (Keith Surette, Matt Roode, Ryan MacKenzie, Tyler Whidden & Matt Cox) were runner-up’s. Team Travis of Moncton, NB, placed 3rd (Kenny Mole, Devan Park, Karl McKnight, Travis Christie, Colin Clark and Chris Dupuis).

Halifax Explosion (Christa Yeo, Jen Rowden, Leigh Ann Giles, Janet Ritcey and Katt Evans) earned the Women’s Team title over another Halifax team, Striking Viking (Monette McCue, Kelly Brimicombe, Shauna Boyle, and Amber Thorpe).

For more information on CCS, and the 2017 CCS National Championships, visit

2016 CCS Maritime 8-Ball

bottom of page